Skip to main content
McMaster University Menu Search

In the aftermath of the global financial crisis of 2007 austerity is often viewed as the new normal.

The Austerity Research Group, with members from seven social science disciplines, formed to investigate the theory, practice and results of austerity policies.

Several faculty including Michelle Dion, Peter Graefe, Stephen McBride, Robert O’Brien, and Don Wells participate in interdisciplinary research group on austerity.  The Austerity Research Group has organized several SSHRC-funded workshops and departmental seminars on themes related to austerity.